Columbus Board of Health

Columbus Public Health is governed by a 5-person Board with members appointed by the Mayor and approved by Columbus City Council. Each member serves a 4-year term and is eligible for reappointment. The Board functions as a policy, governance, advisory and regulatory board and provides oversight of major financial and programmatic decisions.

Board of Health meetings are usually held on the 3rd Tuesday of each month (except August) at 2 pm, with special sessions called as needed. Date and time are subject to change, please check the schedule below. The agenda is posted prior to the meeting. Meetings are held at the Columbus Public Health and are open to the public.

Resolution Declaring Racism a Public Health Crisis(PDF, 1022KB)

* Please note any changes next to meeting dates.

Speaking Guidelines at Meetings

Any person of the general public who wishes to speak before the Board of Health must follow a set of guidelines(PDF, 18KB).

Meeting Agenda

July 2024(PDF, 120KB)  

June 2024(PDF, 143KB)  

May 2024(PDF, 111KB)

Board Members

Andrew J. Ginther
President, Ex-Officio

Andrew Boy
Founder and CEO, United Schools Network

Shayne Downton
Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Mount Carmel Health System

Deena Chisolm, PhD
Director of the Center for Child Health Equity and Outcomes Research and Vice-President for Health Services Research, Abigail Wexner Research Institute at Nationwide Children’s Hospital

Jean Halpin
Chief Operations Officer for Grant Medical Center and System Vice President of Customer Experience for OhioHealth

Joshua J. Joseph, MD, MPH, FAHA
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine with Tenure and the Endowed Professor for Research in Internal Medicine in the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center