Linden Neighborhood Conversation

Robin Davis
Director of Media Relations

Melanie Crabill
Communications Manager

Media Advisory
News Date: January 04, 2018

Mayor Ginther and First Lady Shannon Ginther Announce New Columbus Women’s Commission Members

Mayor Andrew J. Ginther and First Lady Shannon Ginther announced the six new Commissioners on the Columbus Women’s Commission. The Commission, first seated last January, works to dismantle barriers and reduce gender-based inequities to improve the economic position of women in our community.

Ms. Ginther said, “We have made great strides in the work for the women of Columbus in the first year. We know progress can't be affected in a silo, so we've gathered people with diverse perspectives to make change happen.”

Mayor Ginther was thrilled by the response from the community. “Our residents have once again shown the overwhelming desire to partner in this work. The people we have selected will work together with the other Commissioners to recommend solutions, build partnerships and be advocates to create change for women.”

The new Commissioners are:

  • Gina M. Ginn, executive director, Columbus Early Learning Centers
  • Ronnie L. Marquez-Posey, state program administrator, Ohio Department of Job & Family Services
  • Vinita Bahri-Mehra, director, Kegler Brown Hill + Ritter
  • Jillian Olinger, director, Division of Housing and Civic Engagement, The Kirwin Institute at The Ohio State University  
  • Heather Whaling, founder/president, Geben Communication
  • Bruce Wimbish, senior communications manager, Greater Columbus Sports Commission

The remaining Commissioners include:

  • Chair, Shannon Ginther, First Lady, executive director of Healthcare Transformation at Ohio Health Group
  • Christie Angel, president and CEO, YWCA Columbus
  • Elizabeth Brown, Columbus City Councilmember
  • Janelle Coleman, president, foundation and chief diversity officer, L Brands
  • Nicol Ghazi, administrator, Muslim Family Services
  • Danielle Harlow, social science research specialist, Ohio Department of Education
  • Iris Harvey, president and CEO, Planned Parenthood of Greater Ohio
  • Terri Ifeduba, vice president of engagement and development, YWCA Columbus
  • Daphne Kackloudis, chief public policy & strategy officer, Equitas Health
  • Gale King, executive vice president and chief administrative officer, Nationwide Insurance
  • Jeffrey Lyttle, managing director, JP Morgan Chase
  • Kathleen McGarvey, director, The Legal Aid Society of Columbus
  • Ngozi Osuagwu, physician, clinical director of Women’s Health Center, Doctor’s Hospital
  • Mary B. Relotto, founder, Dames Bond LLC& Mission Possible Consulting Group
  • Barbara Smoot, president and CEO, WELD

The Columbus Women’s Commission focuses on four areas that are key to women in the community:  pay equity, housing and safety, health and nutrition, and workforce development and education.