City Council Small

Contact Info 90 West Broad St.
Columbus, OH 43215


Sign Up Through GovDelivery


City of Columbus Announces Steven Shellabarger Illuminator Award Recipients and Lights City Hall for Pride Week

Council President Shannon Hardin
Auditor Megan Kilgore
Community Advocate Steven Shellabarger
Department of Neighborhoods Director Carla Williams-Scott
Community Relations Commissioner Chris Cozad
Co-Owner of Bake Me Happy Letha Pugh
Award Recipients John Lanthrum-Brungs and Scott Schopper
Columbus Gay Men's Chorus

Monday, June 11
8pm - Musical Performance by Kelly Zullo
8:30pm - Program Begins

City Hall
90 W. Broad St.
(Marconi Blvd. side of the building)


Please join Council President Shannon Hardin and Auditor Megan Kilgore as they kick-off Columbus Pride Week with the lighting of City Hall and presentation of the Steven Shellabarger Illuminator Award. This award is an annual recognition presented to individuals for outstanding initiatives promoting LGBTQ rights in the City. 

This year's recipients are John Lathram-Brungs and Scott Schopper.

Lathram-Brungs is a longtime advocate of social action and LGBTQ rights. In addition to his service on the North Linden Area Commission, he works to combat human trafficking and promote safe neighborhoods.

Schopper has been a volunteer for the Pride Festival for 11 years, serving most of those years as festival chair. Under his support and guidance, Pride has grown from a small event to one of the largest festivals in the Nation. 

Click here for more information about the 2018 Pride Illumination.