City Council Small

Contact Info 90 West Broad St.
Columbus, OH 43215


Sign Up Through GovDelivery


Council Elects Hardin and Brown for Second Term in Leadership Positions

Team Also Appoints City Clerk and Treasurer

sgh eb

Council President Shannon G. Hardin and President Pro Tem Elizabeth Brown

[COLUMBUS, OH] On Monday, January 6, 2020, Council re-elected Shannon G. Hardin as president and Elizabeth Brown as president pro tempore to lead the legislative body of Columbus. The leadership team will continue its strategic focus on creating pathways out of poverty, bringing new jobs, increasing affordable housing and building stronger neighborhoods.

“We’re eager to build off our success in 2019 and will work diligently to solve problems for the residents of Columbus,” said Council President Hardin. “We don’t serve to get elected; we get elected to serve. I am grateful for the opportunity to serve this community with the best Council team in America.”

Councilmember Elizabeth Brown was re-elected president pro tempore. Per the City Charter, the president pro tempore acts as the presiding officer of Council in the absence of the president.

"Columbus is a city of tremendous opportunity, but we still have real work to do to level the playing field for all families," said Brown. "As President Pro Tem, I'm grateful for the support of my colleagues, and I look forward to our work together to fight for a Columbus where every child has an equal shot at success and every person young or old can thrive."

In addition to electing leadership, Council reappointed City Clerk Andrea Blevins and City Treasurer Deborah Klie to their respective roles.

"A growing City needs to think outside the box, develop innovative strategies, and solve big problems,” said President Hardin. “As we work together as a team to address the challenges facing our community, I can promise that we’ll keep all residents in mind."

"Simply put, if it’s not for all, it’s not for Columbus.”