Linden Neighborhood Conversation

Melanie Crabill
Director of Media Relations
[email protected]

Kevin Kilbane
Director of Communications
[email protected]

Media Advisory
News Date: January 18, 2022

Mayor Ginther and First Lady Shannon Ginther Announce New Columbus Women’s Commission Members

Mayor Andrew J. Ginther and First Lady Shannon Ginther announced six new Commissioners on the Columbus Women’s Commission. The Commission, first seated in January 2017, works to dismantle barriers and reduce gender based-inequities to improve the economic position of women in our community. 

“Through unprecedented times, the Columbus Women’s Commission has continued to make strides for women through pay equity, child care and reducing evictions,” said Ms. Ginther. “The diverse backgrounds and skill sets of our commissioners allow us to lift up issues that are most important to the women of this great city. I am excited about the six new commissioners and the work we will accomplish in 2022.”

“The Columbus Women’s Commission continues to stay well positioned to recommend solutions, build partnerships and be advocates to create change for women,” said Mayor Ginther. 

The new Commissioners are:

  • Lourdes Barroso de Padilla, Columbus City Councilmember
  • Sheri Chaney Jones, President, Measurement Resources Company
  • Aminata Soko, Director, Women’s Business Center, ECDI
  • Danielle L. Sydnor, Chief Executive Officer, Rise Together Innovation Center
  • Bob Szuter, Co-Owner, Wolf’s Ridge Brewing
  • Sarah Townes, Chief Marketing and Innovation Officer, Experience Columbus and the Greater Columbus Sports Commission  

The Columbus Women’s Commission would like to recognize three outgoing Commissioners. Their commitment to women and families was made abundantly evident through the time and energy they contributed.


Outgoing Commissioners include:

  • Shayla Favor, Columbus City Councilmember
  • Francie Henry, Fifth Third Bank, Regional President
  • Heather Leonard, Cameron Mitchell Restaurants, SVP of Marketing & Operating Partner

    The remaining Commissioners include:
  • Chair, Shannon Ginther, First Lady, Senior Manager, Strategy and Consulting-Health and Public Service, Accenture
  • Karim A. Ali, Partner in Charge of Professional Personnel and Diversity & Inclusion, Porter Wright Morris & Arthur LLP
  • Susan Basso, Principal, Huron Consulting
  • Monica Cerrezuela, Director of Policy and Legislative Affairs, ADAMH Board of Franklin County
  • Leah Evans, President and CEO, Homeport
  • Gina Ginn, Chief Executive Officer, Columbus Early Learning Centers
  • Emmalyn Jerome, Chief Operating Officer, Lower Lights Ministries
  • Veronica Knuth, Chief People Officer, Quantum Health
  • Ronnie Marquez-Posey,  Bureau Chief, Trade & Veteran Services, State of Ohio Office of Workforce Development
  • Jillian Olinger, Chief Mission Officer, YWCA Columbus
  • Donnetta Peaks, Director Office of Ministry, West Ohio Conference of The United Methodist Church
  • Denise Robinson, President and CEO, Alvis, Inc.
  • Ola Snow, Chief Human Resources Officer, Cardinal Health
  • James D. Thomas, Principal, James D. Thomas Consulting
  • Heather Whaling, President & Founder, Geben Communication

The Columbus Women’s Commission focuses on three areas that are key to women’s economic security in our community:  gender equity in the workplace, affordable housing and evictions and workforce development.