City Council Small

Contact Info 90 West Broad St.
Columbus, OH 43215


Sign Up Through GovDelivery


Council Reelects Hardin and Brown for Leadership Roles

sgh eb

Council President Shannon G. Hardin and President Pro Tem Elizabeth Brown

[COLUMBUS, OH] On Monday, January 3, 2022, Council re-elected  Shannon G. Hardin as president and  Elizabeth Brown as president pro tempore to lead the legislative body of Columbus. 

"Serving the residents of Columbus has been the greatest honor of my life, and I’m grateful that my colleagues asked me to serve as Council President for another two-year term," said Council President  Hardin. "As we head into 2022 with hope, I’m optimistic about Council’s work to make Columbus safer, stronger, and healthier." 

Per the City Charter, the president pro tempore acts as the presiding officer of Council in the absence of the president.

"As we work to level the playing field for families across our neighborhoods, we have to ensure each resident has equal access to opportunities for prosperity," said Pro Tem  Brown. "I'm thankful for the continued support of my colleagues in this leadership role, and I'm excited about all we can accomplish together."

Tonight's meeting also marked the first action of newly-elected Councilmembers Nicholas Bankston and Lourdes Barroso de Padilla, who join Council following the retirements of Priscilla Tyson and Mitchell J. Brown. 

In addition to continuing Council leadership for the new term, members will utilize new leadership for standing Council committees, which will be as follows: 

Council President Shannon G. Hardin
Rules & Reference Committee

President Pro Tem Elizabeth Brown
Finance, Recreation & Parks, Education Committees

Councilmember Emmanuel V. Remy
Public Safety, Environment, Administration Committees

Councilmember Shayla Favor
Housing, Criminal Justice & Judiciary, Health & Human Services Committees

Councilmember Rob Dorans
Public Utilities, Zoning, Workforce Development, Building and Zoning Policy Committees

Councilmember Nicholas Bankston
Economic Development, Small & Minority Business, Technology Committees

Councilmember Lourdes Barroso de Padilla
Public Service & Transportation, Neighborhoods and Immigrant, Refugee, and Migrant Affairs, Veterans & Senior Affairs Committees

Importantly, the Neighborhoods Committee has expanded to include engagement with the many immigrant, refugee and migrant communities Columbus is proud to support. The new committee is named Neighborhoods and Immigrant, Refugee, and Migrant Affairs Committee, and chaired by Councilmember Barroso de Padilla. 

In addition to electing leadership, Council reappointed City Clerk Andrea Blevins and City Treasurer Deborah Klie to their respective roles.

The first regular Council meeting of 2022 will be held on January 10th at 5p in City Hall.