City Council Small

Contact Info 90 West Broad St.
Columbus, OH 43215


Sign Up Through GovDelivery


Council President Shannon Hardin Joins National League of Cities 2020 Presidential Task Force

President Hardin[WASHINGTON, DC] Columbus City Council President Shannon G. Hardin has joined the 2020 Presidential Election Task Force. In partnership with the National League of Cities (NLC), the bipartisan group of city leaders will engage the presumptive nominees of both parties to ensure the local and national issues that matter to Americans are addressed.

"During the 2020 Presidential cycle, it is important that every community and resident feel their voice and priorities are being heard," said Hardin. "All politics is local, but local priorities aren’t always reflected in the national conversation. I’m excited to work with my colleagues from around the country to craft an agenda for cities."

Hardin joins 33 elected officials from across the country looking to find solutions for cities, towns and villages on the national election stage.

"Local leaders have a major part to play in the election next November," said NLC President Karen Freeman-Wilson, mayor of Gary, Indiana. "I’m proud to welcome Council President Shannon Hardin to Washington on behalf of the people of Columbus. Thanks to his leadership and active participation, this task force will help drive forward innovative solutions to the most pressing challenges facing our nation’s communities.”

The task force appointed bipartisan co-chairs, the Honorable Eric Garcetti of Los Angeles, California and the Honorable Francis Suarez of Miami, Florida.

"Our local platform will not be governed by a single political party, idea or group,” said NLC First Vice-President Joe Buscaino, councilmember of Los Angeles, California. “Local leaders like myself believe that political parties are irrelevant to providing necessary services for Americans. This task force is diverse, bipartisan and singularly focused on the success and future of our nation’s communities.”

For a full list of the task force members, see below. 

Co-Chairs: Eric Garcetti, Mayor, Los Angeles, CA – co-chair; Francis Suarez, Mayor, Miami, FL – co-chair

Members: Robin Arredondo-Savage, Councilmember, Tempe, AZ; Scott Benson, Councilmember, Detroit, MI; Andy Berke, Mayor, Chattanooga, TN; Margaret Byrnes, Executive Director, New Hampshire Municipal Association; Krisanna Clark-Endicott, Councilmember, Redmond, OR; John Dailey, Mayor, Tallahassee, FL; Cameron Diehl, Executive Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns; Kathy Ehley, Mayor, Wauwatosa, WI; Derek Green, Councilmember, Philadelphia, PA; Shannon Hardin, Council President, Columbus, OH; David Holt, Mayor, Oklahoma City, OK; Lindsey Horvath, Mayor Pro Tem, West Hollywood, CA; Chokwe Lumumba, Mayor, Jackson, MS; John Lundell, Mayor, Coralville, IA; Lily Mei, Mayor, Fremont, CA; Salvatore Panto, Mayor, Easton, PA; Steve Patterson, Mayor, Athens, OH; Stephanie Piko, Mayor, Centennial, CO; Sean Polster, Councilmember, Warrenton, VA; Grover Robinson, Mayor, Pensacola, FL; David Sander, Vice Mayor, Rancho Cordova, CA; Brandon Scott, Council President, Baltimore, MD; Rebecca Viagran, Councilmember, San Antonio, TX; Victoria Woodards, Mayor, Tacoma, WA; Acquanetta Warren, Mayor, Fontana, CA; Steve Williams, Mayor, Huntington, WV

Ex-Officio Members: Karen Freeman-Wilson, Mayor, Gary, IN, NLC President; Joe Buscaino, Councilmember, Los Angeles, CA, NLC First Vice President; Kathy Maness, Councilmember, Lexington, SC, NLC Second Vice President; Clarence Anthony, Executive Director, National League of Cities; Tim Barnes, President, Community Leaders of America; Barbara Moore, Executive Director, Democratic Municipal Officials