CRC Header

File a ComplaintExamples of DiscriminationProtected Classes DiscriminationInformation about InvestigationsPolice and FireFederal and State2021 UpdatesLearn More about Neighborhoods.png


Protected Classes and Areas of Discrimination

In the City of Columbus, there are 12 protected classes and three areas of protection from discrimination. A protected class is a group of people with a common characteristic who are protected from discrimination on the basis of that characteristic. The protected classes in the Columbus City Code are: 

  • Race
  • Sex
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Gender Identity or Expression
  • Color
  • Religion
  • Ancestry
  • National Origin
  • Age
  • Disability
  • Familial Status
  • Military Status

The areas in which you may file a complaint are:

  • Employment
  • Housing
  • Public Accommodation

Every complaint of discrimination must have a protected class and an area in which the alleged discriminatory action occurred. For example, a complaint may state an individual was treated differently based on their race in the area of employment. For additional examples, please view the "examples of discrimination" page.