About Planning Division

The Planning Division works on a wide variety of projects and programs which are aimed at improving the quality of Columbus’ neighborhoods. Our primary areas of work include:

Annexation: Processing of applications for annexation to the city.

Celebrate One: Support for the city’s Celebrate One program.

Columbus Citywide Planning Policies: Land use planning and design guidelines for city neighborhoods.

Design Review:  Staff support for design review commissions, including Downtown Commission, University Impact District Review Board, and the East Franklinton Review Board.

Development Review: The review of rezoning and variance applications for consistency with adopted plan recommendations.

Historic Preservation: Staff support for the city's architectural review commissions and for Section 106 review of federally-funded projects.

Maps and Apps: Development of maps, data, and applications in support of planning and other development related efforts.

Public Art: Staff support for the Columbus Art Commission.

Urban Infrastructure Recovery Fund: Planning for neighborhood based capital improvements.

Planning Division Staff:
Lori Baudro, AICP, Senior Project Coordinator 
614-645-6986 | lsbaudro@columbus.gov

Marc Cerana, GIS Analyst/Cartographer
614-645-0662 | mpcerana@columbus.gov

Mark Dravillas, AICP, Acting Administrator
614-645-6823 | mcdravillas@columbus.gov

James A. Goodman, M.S.  Historic Preservation Officer   
614-645-7920 | jagoodman@columbus.gov

Patrick Holland, Senior Planner
614-645-3507 | pjholland@columbus.gov

Corinne Jones, AICP, Assistant Historic Preservation Officer   
614-645-8654 | cfjones@columbus.gov

Christopher Lohr, Planning Manager
614-645-7244 | crlohr@columbus.gov

Cristin Moody, Assistant Historic Preservation Officer  
614-645-8040 | camoody@columbus.gov

Linda Poulton, Administrative Assistant 
614-645-8036 | ljpoulton@columbus.gov

Marc Rostan, Senior Planner
614-645-8791 | mjrostan@coumbus.gov

Alex Sauersmith, Senior Planner 
614-724-2864 | acsauersmith@columbus.gov

Belkis Schoenhals, Senior Planner
614-645-6096 | beschoenhals@columbus.gov

Luis Teba, Senior Planner
614-645-8062 | lfteba@columbus.gov

Daniel Thomas Urban Design Manager 
614-645-8404 | djthomas@columbus.gov

Connie Torbeck, Assistant Historic Preservation Officer   
614-645-0664 | cltorbeck@columbus.gov

Jackie Yeoman, Planning Manager 
614-645-0663 | jeyeoman@columbus.gov

Please note that other city departments conduct additional topic specific planning, including parks planning, transportation planning, and utilities planning.  Parks planning is conducted by the Department of Recreation and Parks, transportation planning is conducted by the Department of Public Service, and utilities planning is conducted by the Department of Public Utilities.  Additionally, the Building and Zoning Services Department is responsible for accepting and reviewing applications for development, including permitting, site compliance, zoning clearance, and rezoning and variance requests.