Historic Preservation

Brewery District

The Columbus Register of Historic Properties is the city's official listing of individual properties, groups and districts of historic and architectural significance. Columbus has 18 historic districts and 75 individual buildings listed on the Register.

Historic Districts and Register of Historic Properties

The Historic Preservation Office provides technical assistance to property owners and potential buyers who would like to purchase historic properties. Staff also works with the Housing Division rehabilitation technicians, Code Enforcement staff, Building Services Division zoning staff, the Franklin County Municipal Environmental Court and the Department of Recreation and Parks.

The Historic Preservation Office also staffs the city's five historic Architectural Review Commissions:

Other Boards, Commissions, and Panels can also be found here.

We Have Moved:

Move Historic Preservation Graphic

Application Drop Off: The Planning Division of the Development Department is now located on the third floor of the Coleman Governmental Center at 111 North Front Street. For customer convenience, hard copy applications for Historic Preservation commissions should be dropped off on the first floor at the check-in (reception) station for the Department of Building and Zoning Services. Please note that the Building and Zoning Services check-in (reception) desk is open from 9 am to 4 pm, Monday through Friday. 

Customer Pick Up: Customer pick-ups of signed Certificates of Appropriateness or Approval are to be picked up at the same location as noted above. Application forms may be downloaded online from any of the city's five historic Architectural Review Commissions located on this webpage. Please note that the staff located at the Building and Zoning Services check-in (reception) station will be unable to answer questions related to these applications or Certificates of Appropriateness or Approval. For any questions, please contact the Corresponding Commission directly via the email address listed on their webpage. 

Staff Appointments: Historic Preservation staff are not generally available for walk-in appointments. Customers who wish to discuss an application with staff should make arrangements by phone or email. Email communication is encouraged when possible. 

Customer Parking: Free customer parking is available on a first come, first serve basis in the garage at the northwest corner of Front and Long Streets. There are approximately 96 spaces available for the public.

2018 Parking Map