

## **HEALTH COMMISSIONER'S ORDER**

Pursuant to the Declaration of Public Health Emergency issued by the Columbus Board of Health on March 13, 2020 and by the authority granted in Columbus Health Code Section 775.04(a)(1) and Ohio Revised Code Chapter 3707, I, Mysheika W. Roberts, MD, MPH, Health Commissioner, Columbus Board of Health, to prevent the spread of COVID-19 and to protect the public health, safety, and welfare within the City of Columbus, do hereby **Order** the following:

- 1. All salad bars and buffets in food service operations and retail food establishments be closed.
- 2. The entire jurisdictions of the cities of Columbus and Worthington are subject to this Order.

This Order shall take effect immediately and remain in full force and effect until the public health emergency declaration of March 13, 2020 has been terminated unless otherwise renewed by the Board of Health and/or the Health Commissioner.

Mysheika W. Roberts, MD, MPH

Health Commissioner

March 17, 2020

On January 30, 2020, the International Health Regulations Emergency Committee of the World Health Organization declared the outbreak of COVID-19 a public health emergency of international concern.

On January 31, 2020, Alex M. Azar II, Secretary of Health and Human Services, determined and declared that a public health emergency exists in the United States in relation to COVID-19; and

On February 1, 2020, the Ohio Department of Health issued a statewide Health Alert Network to provide local health departments with updated guidance for COVID-19; and

On March 9, 2020, testing by the Department of Health confirmed that three (3) patients were positive for COVID-19 in the State of Ohio, creating a potentially dangerous condition which may affect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens of Ohio and Governor Mike DeWine, signed an Executive Order declaring a State of Emergency for the entire State of Ohio in relation to COVID-19 pursuant to the Governor's authority vested in him by the Constitution, the laws of the State of Ohio and in accordance with Revised Code section 5502.22. This Executive Order declaring a State of Emergency for the entire State of Ohio urged all citizens to heed to the advice of the Department of Health and other emergency officials regarding COVID-19 in order to protect their health and safety.



On March 12, 2020, Governor DeWine announced the closing of all kindergarten through 12<sup>th</sup> grade schools through April 3, 2020 and the Ohio Department of Health Director Amy Acton signed an order prohibiting mass gatherings in the state of Ohio.

On March 13, 2020, President Donald J. Trump declared a National Emergency, invoking the Stafford Act and allowing the Federal Emergency Management Agency to coordinate disaster response and aid state and local governments in addressing the COVID-19 pandemic; the Franklin County Emergency Operations Center (FCEOC) activated to support the coordination and response to COVID-19 within Franklin County pursuant to Revised Code Chapter 5502; and the Ohio Department of Health issued an amended Director's Order to Limit Access to Ohio Nursing Homes and Similar Facilities.

On March 14, 2020, the Ohio Department of Health issued an amended Director's Order to require health screening for admission to the state operated psychiatric hospitals and Ohio Department of Youth Services facilities and issued a Director's Order closing all K-12 schools in the state of Ohio.

On March 15, 2020, the Ohio Department of Health issued a Director's Order to restrict the sales of alcohol, food, and all other beverages to carry-out sales and delivery only and issued interim guidance limiting mass gatherings to no more than 50 people.

On March 16, 2020, the Ohio Department of Health issued a Director's Order closing all polling locations on March 17, 2020 in the state of Ohio.

Currently, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) lists over 3,487 cases in the United States and over 167,151 worldwide cases of COVID-19 and over 6,606 deaths; and the State of Ohio has 50 confirmed cases; including 5 cases in Franklin County, and is currently experiencing "community spread" of the virus that causes COVID-19.