Retail Tobacco Sales License Information
How do I get a
Retail Tobacco Sales License?
tobacco retailers will be required to apply for and retain a valid Retail
Tobacco Sales License every year. A
license application has been sent to retailers to complete and return to
Columbus Public Health.
- Read the Tobacco 21 License Application Letter here.
- Download the Tobacco 21 License Application here.
A license will be required for each location and the license is
non-transferable. Tobacco retailers must
submit a current and valid tobacco vendor’s license issued by the Ohio
Department of Taxation to Columbus Public Health before applications will be
processed for licensing. Retailers that
only sell tobacco product paraphernalia are still required to apply for and
retain a Retail Tobacco Sales License, but they do not need to provide a
tobacco vendors license from the Ohio Department of Taxation.
How much will a
Retail Tobacco Sales License cost?
annual license fee for each license will be $150 and the license will be valid
from October 1 to September 30 of the following
year. A penalty fee equal to 25% of the
applicable license fee will be assessed by the Board of Health for license fee
payments that are not received or postmarked by October 1.
Do I need to get a
Retail Tobacco Sales License if I am selling product paraphernalia at an event?
you will need to get a Temporary Retail Tobacco Product Paraphernalia Sales
License for the event. An application,
which is available on our website, will need to be submitted to Columbus Public
Health at least 10 days prior to the event and the license is valid for no
longer than 5 days. This license is
limited for use at a single event of no more than 5 consecutive days. The
license fee is $50. Anyone who fails to
apply for the license prior to the beginning of the event will be subject to
denial of the application for the license. Please note that selling tobacco at
an event is prohibited.
Can I be denied a Retail
Tobacco Sales License? Can a Retail Tobacco Sales License be suspended or revoked?
can be denied, suspended or revoked for giving or selling cigarettes, tobacco
products or product paraphernalia to anyone under the age of 21. Also, licenses can be denied, suspended or
revoked if no proof of age is obtained by the tobacco retailer for customers that
are under age 30. In addition, licenses
may be denied, suspended or revoked for reasons such as failure to post
Tobacco 21 signs, failing to pay any outstanding fines, having the business
declared a nuisance by the court, submitting a misleading, inaccurate or false
license application, and failing to be in compliance with applicable city,
state and federal codes.