Division of Police


Guided by the Constitution, our Core Values, and steadfast adherence to ethical conduct, we are in service to safeguard the lives, property, and rights of all.


Established in 1816, the Columbus Division of Police has over 1,800 officers and 300 civilian employees. The Division covers 20 precincts across the greater Columbus metropolitan area, while serving over 900,000 residents.

Our primary focus is the safety of those we serve, while treating our residents with respect, dignity, and fairness. The dedicated men and women of the Columbus Division of Police are continuously engaged in community outreach and making sure to put forth the best trained police force in the nation.