The Selection Process

The Selection Process

Multiple Choice
Application and Testing

The first step in the selection process is to file an application. If your application is approved, the Civil Service Commission will notify you of the time and place to report for the four phase entry level police officer examination.

The phases of the examination are:

  • Phase I – Multiple Choice - this portion of the exam covers spelling, vocabulary, reading comprehension and map reading.

  • Phase II – Writing Sample - this portion of the exam is designed to test your oral comprehension and writing skills, as well as your knowledge of correct language usage such as spelling, grammar, punctuation and capitalization.

  • Phase III – Situational Response Assessment

Information sessions will be offered by Civil Service prior to testing, and we strongly urge you to attend one of these sessions.

Note: Application-filing periods are announced by the City of Columbus Civil Service Commission on as as-needed basis. If applications are not being accepted and you would like to receive notification of upcoming application filing periods please complete a Job Interest Card on the Civil Service website.

There is no appeals process for the Civil Service test. Study guides are available at the Civil Service Commission Website.