City Council Small

Contact Info 90 West Broad St.
Columbus, OH 43215


Sign Up Through GovDelivery


Mitchell J. Brown Selected as Councilmember

Columbus City Councilmembers have selected Mitchell J. Brown to fulfill an unexpired term on Columbus City Council. Brown, a former Director of the Columbus Department of Public Safety, will finish the remaining two years of the four-year term of former Councilmember Eileen Y. Paley that runs through 2017.

Paley was elected this past November as a Franklin County Municipal Court judge.

“Mitchell J. Brown is a respected community leader,” said Council President Zach Klein. “Mr. Brown’s extensive experience in public safety at the state and local government level as well as his involvement in the community give him the right background to serve on City Council with distinction.”

Brown served as Director of the Department of Public Safety from 2000 to 2014 under former Columbus Mayor Michael B. Coleman. Brown has also served as the Director of the Ohio Lottery Commission under former Gov. Bob Taft and as a former Director of the Ohio Department of Public Safety under former Gov. George V. Voinovich. Brown has also served as a former Registrar of the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles and as a former Director of the Cleveland Department of Public Safety, under Voinovich when he was Mayor of Cleveland.