Public Safety Logo

Public Safety Director's Office
77 North Front Street
Columbus, OH 43215
Office: (614) 645-8210
Fax: (614) 645-8268
Office Hours:
8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday



Robert Clark

Director of Public Safety Robert W. Clark

Robert W. Clark was appointed Director of the Columbus Department of Public Safety on September 3, 2021. A native of Youngstown, Ohio, Director Clark is excited to return to his home state and take on this role at such a critical time.


- learn more

Jeffrey M. Happ

Fire Chief Jeffrey M. Happ Jeffrey M. Happ was named Chief of the Columbus Division of Fire on February 9, 2021, after nearly 28 years of service in nearly every corner of Columbus.   He had served as Interim Fire Chief since May of 2020..... - learn more

Bryant,Elaine - Chief of Police

Police Chief Elaine Bryant Columbus Police Chief Elaine Bryant made history as CPD’s first chief from outside the division, and its first African American female Chief.  Mayor Andrew J. Ginther announced Chief Bryant’s selection on June 2nd, 2021, after a nationwide search. - learn more