About Public Service

Contact Info Department of Public Service
111 N. Front Street
Columbus, OH 43215
Office :  (614) 645-8290 
Fax :  (614) 645-7805
Email : Contact Information

(614) 645-3111

Meet the Director

Jennifer Gallagher is Director of the City of Columbus Department of Public Service, leading a team of 800 employees and managing operating and capital budgets totaling $279 million.  

Prior to being named Director, Jennifer served as Deputy Director and orchestrated the restructuring of Department divisions to improve customer service, project efficiencies and employee morale. She implemented changes to consultant procurement that led to expedited contract completion, better use of technology and processes to track a variety of goals. She has enjoyed working in the transportation field for over 20 years since starting her career as a Traffic Engineer for the Franklin County Engineer’s Office. She also held various roles at the Ohio Department of Transportation. 

Under Jennifer’s leadership, the City won the U.S. Department of Transportation’s $40 million Smart City Challenge in June 2016 to become the first U.S. city to fully integrate innovative technologies into its transportation network. 

Jennifer is a leader in the City’s efforts to enhance mobility options on key corridors to address major population growth, attract and retain business growth, promote sustainability and ensure quality of life for Columbus residents. She has spearheaded Vision Zero Columbus to fundamentally change how the City looks at the transportation system — making protecting human lives its highest priority.

In 2019 Columbus was admitted as a member of the National Association of City Transportation Officials (NACTO). Membership allows the Department to exchange transportation ideas to build safe, sustainable, accessible and equitable transportation choices that support a strong economy and vibrant quality of life. 

Jennifer serves on the Executive Committee and Transportation Policy Committee for the Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission (MORPC). She is also a member of the Central Ohio Transit Authority (COTA) Board of Trustees. 

Jennifer was honored as the WTS Columbus Chapter 2017 Woman of the Year for her extraordinary leadership and support of women in transportation. Under her leadership, the Department was named WTS Columbus Chapter 2017 Employer of the Year, and has won numerous awards for its division’s excellence. 

Jennifer is a licensed engineer in Ohio and is a graduate of The Ohio State University with bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Civil Engineering.