Plan Review, Permits and Inspections

Contact Us

Building and Zoning Services
111 North Front Street
Columbus, OH 43215   
Office:  (614) 645-7433   
Weekdays: 9:00AM to 4:00PM 
Please note that the Zoning Review room will be closed the second Tuesday of the month from 9 -10:30 AM for staff training.

Additional Contacts
Directions to our office
Parking Map for BZS

Citizen Access Portal


2023 Observed Holidays

Monday, January 2
New Year's Day (Observed)
Monday, January 16
Martin Luther King Jr Day
Monday, February 20
Presidents’ Day
Monday, May 29
Memorial Day
Monday, June 19
Juneteenth (Observed)
Tuesday, July 4
Independence Day
Monday, September 4
Labor Day
Friday, November 10
Veterans Day (Observed)
Thursday, November 23
Thanksgiving Day
Monday, December 25
Christmas Day

1, 2 and 3 Family Residential Plans

Two sets of construction drawings are needed for review. For additions and new buildings, site plans must be submitted showing the location of the new work, grades, slope, sidewalks, driveways and parking, as applicable. The drawings are not required to be prepared or sealed by an architect or engineer. However, there is information that is required to be provided on the construction drawings that only a design professional can provide.

Two copies of documentation that show compliance with the International Energy Conservation Code must be submitted for all new construction, whether it is an addition to a house or new-house construction. Generally a RES-CHECK is submitted for this.

Additional requirements

     
  • Soils report for soil bearing pressure greater than 1500 psf
  • Two sets sealed Truss drawings by truss manufacturer

Residential Documents and Code Requirements